This is the "Company & Industry Research" page of the "Company & Industry Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Company & Industry Research  

Last Updated: Aug 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.byuh.edu/industry Print Guide RSS Updates

Company & Industry Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Build a List of Companies by Industry, ect.

1. LexisNexis Academic - Business: US and international finacial information from government and private sources. Comparison based on criteria such as sales, income and number of employees. [click business tab on top menu]
Tutorial: Investext Reports, Hoovers, & Company Comparisons

2. Mint Global: International company financial data, original filings, ownership and subsidiary information, Datamonitor industry profiles, business intelligence and M&A deal data on the top 5 million public and hard-to-find private companies in the world.
Tutorial: Building Company Lists
h.edu/auth.cgi?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademic/search/flap.do

3. North American Industry Classification System (NAICS):  The standard used by US federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

 

Company & Industry Profiles

1. Business Source Complete: Includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

2. Factiva: A single point of access to a deep archive of global news and business information not available on the free Web, allowing users to conduct in-depth research on companies, industries, regional affairs - or any news.
  Tutorial: Global Business News

3. Passport: International marketing tool provided by Euromonitor contains data for many countries on consumer market sizes, market data & forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, and business information sources.

Tutorial: Passport Statistics or Reports

4.IBIS World: Global industry reports,  company research and industry market research

5. IBIS World: China Site: Click the China Site link midway down the page for China-specific industry, company and market research and reports.

6. LexisNexis Academic - Business:  US and international financial info from government and private sources. Comparison based on criteria such as sales, income and number of employees.  
  Tutorial: Investext Reports, Hoovers, & Company Comparisons

7. Mint Global: International company financial data, original filings, ownership and subsidiary information, Datamonitor industry profiles, business intelligence and M&A deal data on the top 5 million public and hard-to-find private companies in the world.
Tutorial: Building Company Lists

8. PrivCo (Private Company Finacial Data): PrivCo is the premiere source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.

 

Financial Data and Analyst Reports

1. Bloomberg Terminal: (in CAC)

2. EDGAR: SEC financial reports of U.S. corporations. Includes annual reports, quarterly reports, balance sheet, income statement, security activity and analysis and more.

3. Factiva: Global news and business information service including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, The Wall Street Journal, and thousands of other national and international newspapers in multiple languages. Also provides financial market data and company information.
Tutorial: Global Business News

4. Investor Edge (Mergent): Access to company documents and financial info, including the past 10 years of annual reports, industry reports with sector-level analysis covering current environment, industry profiles, performance, market trends outlook as well as Corporate Bond Reports

5. PrivCo: business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies

6. Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage: International info on stocks, bonds, funds, industries, corporations. Limited Compustat functionality. [Under Quick Links on the lower left hand side of the page.]

8. LexisNexis Academic - Business:  US and international financial info from government and private sources. Comparison based on criteria such as sales, income and number of employees.  
Tutorial: Investext Reports, Hoovers, & Company Comparisons

 

Industry Financial Ratios

1. eStatement Studies (RMA): Common-size financial statements, industry norms and financial ratios. Composite performance metrics derived directly from the financial statements of financial institutions’ borrowers and prospects.

 

Other Directories

1. Gale Directory Library: Sort and export directory info, such as financial info, circulation figures, etc., both from current and prior editions. Multiple directories can be cross-searched as well.

2. Thomas Global Register: Directory of 500,000 manufacturers and distributors from 22 countries, classified by 10,500 products and services categories. You must register the first time and remember your ID.

3. Thomas Register of American Manufacturers: Info on over 155,000 manufacturers. You must register the first time and remember your ID. 

4. International Directory of Business Biographies , 4v,  2005
·  International Directory of Company Histories , Vol. 99,  2009
·  International Directory of Company Histories , Vol. 100,  2009
·  International Directory of Company Histories , Vol. 101,  2009
·  International Directory of Company Histories , Vol. 102,  2009
·  International Directory of Company Histories , Vol. 103,  2009
·  International Directory of Company Histories , Vol. 104,  2010
·  International Directory of Company Histories , Vol. 105,  2010

·  International Directory of Company Histories , Vol. 106,  2010
·  International Directory of Company Histories , Vol. 107,  2010
·  International Directory of Company Histories , Vol. 108,  2010
·  International Directory of Company Histories , Vol. 109,  2010

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Becky DeMartini
Contact Info
JFS Library, Office 192
(808) 675-3946
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip