Primary Source Databases [A-L]
Click on the
for more information.
- 18th Century Collections Online [Gale] (see Eighteenth Century Collections Online) Eighteenth Century
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers [Gale] Newspaper. History.
- 19th Century UK Periodicals [Gale] Periodicals, History.
- American Civil War Research Database [ASP] American Civil War
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries [ASP] American Civil War
- American County Histories Collection [Accessible Archives] American History. Primary Source.
- American Memory: Library of CongressAmerican Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history...
- American Periodical Series Online (1740-1900) [ProQuest] History/General Subjects. 1740-1900.
- American State Papers 1789-1838 [NewsBank] American State Papers
- Ancient and Medieval History Online [Facts On File] Ancient History
- Archive of Americana [NewsBank] Archive of Americana
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (BWLD) [ASP] Includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women
- Center for Oral History (UH)COH preserves the recollections of Hawai‘i’s people through oral interviews and disseminates oral history transcripts to researchers, students, and the general community.
- Chicago Tribune Archive (1849-1987) [ProQuest] History/General
- Civil War Research Database [Accessible Archives] Civil War. Primary Source.
- Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 [Gale] History. Political Science.
- Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works [ASP] Psychology.
- Defining Gender, 1450-1910 [Adam Matthew] Gender studies
- Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) [NewsBank] American Imprints
- Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw- Shoemaker, 1801-1819 [NewsBank] American Imprints
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and Environment [ASP] Early Encounters in North America
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) Work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online [Gale] Eighteenth Century
- Eighteenth Century Journals [Adam Matthew] Newspapers. History. Primary Source.
- FBIS - Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence.
- First World War: Personal Experiences [AMDC] History
- Fold3 Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
- Gerritsen's Women's History Collection Women and the World
- Godey's Lady's Book [Accessible Archives] American history. Womens history. Primary source.
- HARPWEEK (Harper's Weekly) Harper's Weekly
- HeritageQuest Genealogy.
- Historical Newspapers [Accessible Archives] American History. Primary Source.
- House and Senate Journals, Series I, 1789-1817Archive of America
- Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines [ASP] History. Primary Sources.
- Iraq, 1914-1974: The Middle East Online, Series 2 [Gale] History. Political Science.
- Lily: A Temperance and Abolitionist Newspaper, 1849 to 1856 [Accessible Archives] Women's Studies. Primary Sources. Newspapers.
Primary Source Databases [M-Z]
Click on the
for more information.
- Making of the Modern World Digital Archive (Gale) Economic Literature
- Medieval Travel Writing [AMDC] History. Medieval. Primary Sources.
- Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet William Shakespeare
- New York Times Archive (1851-2007) [ProQuest] New York Times Archive
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) 19th century U.S. newspapers captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- Nixon Years [AMDC]
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories [ASP] North American Immigrant
- North American Indian Thought and Culture [ASP] History. Anthropology. Primary Sources.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries - Colonial to 1950 [ASP] North American Women's
- Oral History Online [ASP] Oral History in English from around the world
- Original Sources: In Their Own Words World History, U.S. History, Social Science, Science & Mathematics,Political Science & Law,Philosophy & Religion,Literature,Language.
- Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700 [AMDC] Primary Sources. Women's Studies. English Language and Literature. History.
- Periodical Archives Online Arts, humanities and social sciences
- Periodicals Index Online Arts, humanities and social sciences
- Post War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950 [Gale] History. Political Science. Primary Sources.
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale) Sabin Americana
- Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period [ASP] Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
- Senate Executive Journals, Series I, 1789-1980Archive of Americana
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974 [ASP]
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition [Gale] History. Slavery. Primary Sources.
- Testaments to the Holocaust [Gale] History.
- The Times (London) Digital Archive (Gale) The Times (London)
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps [NewsBank] U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 [NewsBank] Government.
- U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs (Gale) U.S. Supreme Court Records
- Victorian Popular Culture [AMDC] History. Primary Sources.
- Wall Street Journal Archives (1889-1989) [ProQuest] Wall Street
- Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 [ASP] Women and Social Movements in the United States
What are Primary Sources?
These websites answer questions like:
*What is a primary source?
*How can I tell if it is a primary source?

Loading...
