The journal finder also allows you to find where we have full-text
access to known articles. To do this, click on the “Article Finder” tab
and fill out all the information you have for the article. (http://library.byuh.edu/library/help#journal)
To browse for journals (look through/search an alphabetical listing
of journals) click on the “Browse” tab. You can browse search for known
journals by searching “Journals by Title (Full Text)” (will only show
journals we have full-text access to), “Journals by Title” (will show
all journals we have access to regardless of whether we have full-text
access or not), “Databases by Name” (if you’re looking for a database),
“Journal Subjects,” and “Databases by Category.” The record will look
identical to the record found using the “Search” for journals option.(http://library.byuh.edu/library/help#journal)
On the Library Website Main Page, on the "Databases and Journal box", selecting the Journal's tab you can search for specific journals (NOT articles) and see if we have access to the full text online through one of the databases. If you want to go ahead and search for a particular journal, simply type in the name of the journal and click Search.
If you do not know the exact name of the journal you are looking for, you can select Search and it will take you to the Journal Finder page or click on Journals by Subject (located at the bottom of the database/journal box) and it will take you to Journals by Subject page and you will be able to select a subject and view journals in that subject.
Either way you go, you will be brought to the BYUH Library "Journal Finder" page. If you were searching for a particular journal, the search results will appear below. If you wanted to find a journal that you did not know the exact name of, you would be able to browse by title (A-Z) or by subject (under the "Journals by Subject" tab).
When you find the journal that you are looking for, click on it, and you will be brought to a page that will show you if we have access to full text of the jounal.
For this particular example, we have access to a database that provides the full text for the journal we are searching for. ProQuest Research Library has text from 1994-2007. Now that you have found the journal, the search continues for the specific article within the journal. Depending on the date of the article you are looking for, you would go the database and continue your search.
It is also a good idea, however, to see if we have a physical copy of the journal in our library. Click on the "Check to see if BYUH Library has a physical copy of the journal" link. If we have it, you will be brought to the library catalog.
Here we can see that the library has a physical copy of the particular journal we are looking for.
Text from 1990-1993 is available in Microfilm form.
Text from 1994-2006 is available in Bound Periodical form.
And current issues are available in regular print in the Current Periodical section.
The default first screen in journal finder is the search for
journals screen. You can search for a known journal using keywords, a
journal title, a database title (if you’re looking for a database and
not a journal), subject and ISSN. After searching and finding your
journal, you will be taken to a screen that tells you where to find
full-text of the journal. It will look in BYU’s print journal holdings
as well as our electronic journal and database holdings so that you
only have to check one place to see if we have access to a journal. It
will also tell you where journals are simply indexed but not available
in full-text.(http://library.byuh.edu/library/help#journal)
