Citation Help

• The list of sources at the end of the paper is called the bibliography. This list must include all references cited in the text of your paper
• In the bibliography, entries are listed in alphabetical order according to the authors' last names. If no author or editor is provided, the work's title may be used instead
• Entries are double-spaced , but single-spacing is used within each entry. The second and subsequent lines are indented.
• When the bibliography includes multiple entries by the same author listed together, a 3-em dash may be used to replace the author's name after the first entry (16.84 - 16.89). For example:

                    ---. Memory and Brain. New York: Oxford University Press, 1987.



SFU Style Guide

How to refer to notes in your paper

To acknowledge a source in your paper, place a superscript number immediately after the end punctuation of a sentence containing the quotation, paraphrase, or summary.

• Example: This is how one acknowledges a source in Chicago/Turabian documentation.¹

Do not put any punctuation after the number.

Where to place notes

Place notes

• at the bottom of each page
• separated from the text with a typed line, 1.5 inches long.

Some instructors will allow you to place notes, instead, as endnotes on a separate page (titled Notes) at the end of your paper, after any appendices.

How to format notes

In the footnote or endnote itself:

• use the same number as in the body of your paper
• do not raise or superscript it
• put a period and two spaces after the number

The notes themselves are:

• single-spaced
• first-line indented five spaces from the left margin.

Double-space between notes.

Several references to same author in a paragraph?

If a single paragraph of your paper contains several references to the same author, it is permissible to use one number after the last quotation, paraphrase, or summary to indicate the source for all of the material used in that paragraph.

Abbreviations

Generally there is no need to use the abbreviations "p." and "pp." before page numbers. Simply list the appropriate numbers.



The Writer's Handbook Chicago Style Guide

• In Chicago notes/bibliography style, footnotes or endnotes are used to cite quotes, paraphrases, and other in-text references
  
  • Footnotes are numbered citations listed at the bottom of each page in the research paper
  • Endnotes are numbered citations listed on a single page at the end of the research paper
• To cite a source, a small superscript (raised) number is placed after each in-text reference (16.25). Throughout the paper, these in-text references are numbered in sequential order. For example:
         Mooney found that "domestic violence has, since the 1970s, been increasingly recognized as a social problem." ¹

• Each numbered reference then corresponds to a numbered citation in the footnote or endnote that provides author, date, and publication information for each source. The numbers in the notes are full size, not raised, and followed by a period. The older style is to use superscript numerals, like footnote numbers in the text. They are placed at the beginning of a footnote, without punctuatuon.

• Citations in notes are single-spaced (unless otherwise instructed), but there is a double space between entries. The first line is indented.
  
  
  SFU Style Guide

• The first in text reference to a given source must be cited in full with the name of the author/s, title of the work, place of publication, name of the publisher, and page number/s of the cited reference (16.9-16.18). For example:

       1. Jayne Mooney, Gender, Violence and the Social Order, (London: Macmillan, 2000), 2.

• Subsequent notes for sources that have already been cited may be shortened to the author's last name, abbreviated title, and the appropriate page reference (16.41 - 16.46). For example:

       2. Mooney, Gender, 131-32.

• Immediately following notes that refer to the same source may be shortened even further to 'ibid.' (short for 'ibidem' - the Latin word for "in the same place") and the appropriate page reference (16.47-16.48). For example:

    3. Ibid., 341.



SFU Style Guide